Announcement of the ICC T20 World Cup groups; Fans call it Mini Asia Cup


As the International Cricket Council announced the groups for the T20 World Cup On Friday, the biggest topic of discussion was India and Pakistan pooled in the same group. Indian cricket fans started celebrating soon and that was pretty much expected, given the rivalry between the two countries.

What wasn’t expected, however, was that in addition to the T20 World Cup, people started talking about the Asian Cup and it quickly became a trending keyword on the microblogging site.

Take a close look at the two groups and you will understand why people suddenly became interested in the Asia Cup. – which, as the name suggests, is a multi-nation event featuring only Asian teams.

© Twitter

When the group was announced, the ICC grouped three Asian countries, India, Pakistan and Afghanistan into Group 2. But how does the Asian Cup come into play, you ask? ?

We all know this year’s tournament will be in two rounds – round 1 and super 12. Round 1, which is sort of a qualifying round for the main event, will feature two Asian teams from Sri Lanka and Bangladesh who will compete in different groups. .

In addition to the eight countries that qualified automatically, four teams from the first qualifying round will reach the Super 12 stadium.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are placed in Groups A and B respectively and it is possible that the two teams will end up in Group 2, which already has three other Asian countries, India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Fans feel cheated after ICC mess up groups for T20 World Cup
© Reuters

Placed alongside Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman, Bangladesh are set to win their Group B and looking at Sri Lanka’s current form and Ireland’s recent exploits against South Africa in a game at 50, there is every chance that they will end up as the finalists.

There are so many takes, but if it turns out that way, we’ll see a mini Asian Cup as part of the T20 World Cup.

Fans feel cheated after ICC mess up groups for T20 World Cup
© Reuters

The 2021 Asian Cup was postponed after India reached the final of the Test World Championship and there was no other window to host the tournament. But now that we could see it happen, albeit unintentionally, fans have sarcastically praised the world body for hosting both tournaments in one event.

Some suggested that the Group 2 winner should be crowned Asian champion, while others felt cheated because they prepared for a world event but got a mini Asian Cup instead.

Round 1

group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia.

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman.

Super 12

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A, Vice-Champion Group B.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Finalist Group A, Winner Group B.


Leave A Reply